Setting up the real-time pipeline on AWS

Hi all,
I’m new to the snowplow setup and not an expert developer, but i’m really keen on setting up a real-time streaming pipeline.
I started by setting up a basic cloudfront collector and did some tracking via javascript, this worked fine by just following the guide. However I’m having some trouble setting up the Scala Stream Collector:(
I downloaded the zip with the collector, enrich and sink files, but to be honest I don’t know what to do with them. What service of Amazon should I use? I already setup a EC2 instance, but that’s about where i get stuck. Should I start an elastic bean stalk or … ?

Any pointers are greatly appreciated!!

Thanks in advance
Arjen

1 Like

You can run the individual workers on EC2 boxes just fine. It’s worth putting each type of worker in its own ASG, and the collectors in an ASG with an ELB attached.

1 Like

If I can add my 2c -

I was in the same boat just a couple of months ago. Yes, a good place to start is Elastic Beanstalk. It requires a bit more legwork and more concepts to learn but it’s going to be worth it in the medium term (comes with ASGs out of the box, as @alex recommended). Note where your resources are located - it’d make sense to put them in a VPC. Again, more concepts - but more options for you later. Good luck! AWS really does give you ropes to hang yourself with and for someone without devops expertise it’s a jungle like any other - be patient and give yourself time.

1 Like

Thanks a lot for your quick replies @alex and @vivricanopy, this gives me some pointers again:)
One more question to prevent me from taking a wrong turn here, should i setup a worker environment or webserver environment.
Thanks a lot in advance!

@arjenbrink it’s going to be a worker for the enricher - as it doesn’t listen on http - and a webserver for the collector.