We received this question from a customer:
I have reached 100% disk space in Redshift. Does that mean I’m losing data, or does it mean not all of what is captured is available in redshift?
The answer might benefit other users as well, so we’re crossposting it here.
You won’t lose any data! In the event that Redshift fills up to the point we can’t load new data, the data is stored on S3 until Redshift is resized, after which we load the data that hasn’t been loaded yet.
A cluster resize takes a couple of hours, during which you’ll still be able to read data from the cluster, but we won’t be able to write new data to the cluster. New data will be written to the cluster once the resize is complete, with no data loss.