Is Snowplow suitable for SMBs?

I am a software engineer (increasingly a data engineer!) at a B2B SaaS company. We’ve been getting increasingly frustrated with our existing analytics systems (GA, we can’t afford 360). The problems I believe Snowplow would solve for us are:

1. Data ownership. We are EU based, and many of our customers are in heavily regulated sectors, and have strict expectations of their data processors
  2. Data integration. I have found no tool like Snowplow that natively supports individual events being extracted to your data warehouse and combined with application data. At least, not without paying $$$$$. We’re interested in knowing the habits of individuals, not just aggregations.

Matomo caught my eye at first but it does not seem to support item 2.

What I am more concerned about though is complexity and maintenance. Being B2B, our customer base is not large, certainly not in the millions of events per day territory, and you could count the heads in our ops and data departments on one hand, so I wonder if I am overthinking things.

Could others comment on whether they see Snowplow as a tool for large companies, who need the scalability of its architecture, or whether it is practical for SMBs to maintain with little ongoing overhead? Even if it is, what alternatives are there that might be worth investigating?

1 Like

As a B2B SMB that has been using Snowplow for years, I can definitely say yes, it is suitable. There is overhead to maintain it, but the costs are minimal and other than spending a few days every few months for upgrades, once you have it up and running the day to day time investment is minimal to zero.