Tracking clicks on any element

Hey, I’m a frontend dev trying to get to grips with Snowplow. I’ve got a basic setup working and I see things like events on links are easy enough to track. However, say I wanted to do something like track a click on a button that was outside a form or on an element like a div or image…it seems like I would need to create a custom event?

What would be the best approach to tracking events like clicks on different elements?

If I follow these docs am I on the right path or am I overcomplicating this? Designing tracking - Snowplow Docs

Yep - generally a custom (self describing) event is the way to go here. Although you can also use structured events I’d be tempted to go for custom events as they give much more flexibility. How you implement this tends to be based on your application e.g., a single generic event, click_element vs specific to an application product_image_click.

What would be the best approach to tracking events like clicks on different elements?

There are a couple of different ways to do this - tag managers (like Google Tag Manager) are common as they contain generic ‘gtm.click’ events as well as decorating certain elements with data attributes to either track or not track.

1 Like

Thank you @mike
I was just reading the docs on self-describing events and one thing I can’t work out is what snowplow_name_here is referencing — is that the App peram?
So where says appId: 'sp-static', // you can specify your own app name here or is that name something else?

Oh or actually now I look again would it be the tracker name so in this instance try?

The docs I’m referencing are: Out-of-the-box vs custom events - Snowplow Docs

I still don’t fully understand even after reading the docs how I would define and fire a custom event. What would an example be for something simple, like you want to pass some info about a button a user clicked on?