Writing Iglu clients

I’m new to Snowplow and just exploring this stack. I’m mainly interested in Iglu schema registry. I understand that can set it up as static site with a specific structure. However, My client stack is Python. Considering there is no Python iglu client, I have couple of question:

1. Is a python iglu client on your roadmap? if so what is the timeline?
  2. If I were to write a client myself, is there any documentation I can follow of the features and design? Considering for a static repo, the REST calls are going to be the way to interact but it seems like the client does more than just call REST API for schema lookups. what about when registering a new schema, what validation has to happen? Is there any additional metadata stored anywhere?

Any guidance will be appreciated.

Hello @atharvai,

You’re exactly right about static Iglu registry - there’s nothing more than just specific file structure.

1. Unfortunately, we don’t have Iglu Python Client yet, and don’t have it on roadmap.
  2. Regarding documentation - there’s lot of documentation about Iglu concepts on wiki, also not long time ago we wrote Iglu Ruby Client, which I believe should be very illustrative for writing client in another dynamically-typed language. Besides you can always ask here if you have any questions about implementation.

However, can I ask you for what exact purposes you need an Iglu Python Client? Iglu Clients usually used independently from user’s tech stack and if for example you use Snowplow Python Tracker - you don’t need an Iglu Python Client, tracked events will be handled by our Spark job with embedded Scala Iglu Client.

2 Likes

Anton,